Emirates Glass LEAF Awards 2012 results announced

The results of the 9th Annual Emirates Glass LEAF Awards have been announced, a move said to honor architects who design buildings and solutions that are setting the benchmark for the international architectural community.

The winners were selected from a shortlist by an international jury of architects that included Irving Brauer (chairman, principal of Brauer Associates), Phil Holden (managing director of Pascall+Watson architects), Lucy Bullivant (architectural curator, critic, author), Paolo Brescia (partner of Open Building Research), and Kasia Fiutowska (founding partner of Sketch Design).

The overall winner for 2012 was the Musashino Art University Museum & Library, Tokyo by Sou Fujimoto Architects, with the building described as a “sophisticated yet simple solution.”

Mixed-Use Building of the Year award was given to the Daeyang Gallery & House, South Korea by Steven Holl Architects; Residential Building of the Year award (single occupancy) to Villa Roces, Bruges, Belgium by Architectureburo Govaert & Vanhoutte; and Residential Building of the Year award (multiple occupancy) to S.A Residence, Dhaka, Bangladesh by Rafiq Azam. Special awards went to Studio Daniel Libeskind, DCA Architects PTE Ltd, with Reflections at Keppel Bay.

Manhattan Loft Gardens by SOM (photo by Hayes Davidson)

Musashino Art University Museum & Library by Sou Fujimoto (photo by Daici Ano)


The Commercial Building of the Year award was given to Vivanta Hotel, Bangalore, India by WOW Architects; International Interior Design award to The Royal Children’s Hospital, Melbourne, Australia by Billard Leece Partnership & Bates Smart with HKS; Young Architect of the Year award to White Grounds UK by Marco Guarnieri; and Refurbishment of the Year award to The Granary by Pollard Thomas Edwards Architects. A special Award went to Masrah Al Qasba Theatre, Emirate of Sharjah, United Arab Emirates, by Magma Architecture.

The Public Building award was given to Musashino Art University Museum & Library Tokyo, Japan by Sou Fujimoto Architects. A Special Award went to Stephen Marshall Architects, with Rothschild Archive, UK.

Meanwhile, the Best Sustainable Development award was given to The Druk White Lotus School, Shey, India by Arup Associates; while Best Future Building 2012 winners were Manhattan Loft Gardens, London, UK by Skidmore Owings + Merrill, and The Rock Stadium, Al Ain, UAE by MZ Architects.

The Lifetime Achievement in Architectural Community award was given to Daniel Libeskind.

Reflections by Daniel Libeskind

The Granary by Pollard Thomas Edwards Architects


Like this story? Subscribe to Hotel Design!

Hospitality professionals turn to Hotel Design as their go-to news source for the latest products, projects, and trends for hotel interior designers and architects. Sign up today to get news and updates delivered to your inbox and read on the go.