The Fairmont Copley Plaza announced the completion of a more than $20-million restoration and renovation, which included all of the hotel’s guestrooms and suites, Fairmont Gold, the lower lobby meeting space and the addition of a new rooftop health club and lobby lounge. In addition, OAK Long Bar + Kitchen also debuts at the hotel this summer.
The renovation included all of the 383 guestrooms and suites, and Fairmont Gold Lounge. The new rooms and guest corridors incorporate the marble colors and hues of the public space to bring plum and blue color schemes into the guestrooms and suites. The Fairmont Gold Lounge emulates the feeling of a Back Bay mansion, complete with residential decor.
The hotel also introduced eight themed suites, which are mini-museums celebrating the city’s various iconic institutions. Suites include the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston Pops, Boston Symphony Orchestra, The Freedom Trail, the JFK Library and Museum, Boston Public Library, The Museum of Science and The Catie Copley Suite.
The hotel’s lower lobby meeting space has been completely renovated and now features built in A/V and technology capabilities, complemented by wood paneling. The five meeting rooms comprise 5,600 square feet of function space and feature ergonomic conference chairs, new conference tables, and built in buffets.
Comprised of more than 3,000 square feet, the new rooftop health club features TechnoGym equipment, including cardio vascular machines with individual entertainment systems, weight machines, free weights and benches, a stretching area and resistance training and core strengthening equipment. Designed as a contemporary urban loft space, the health club features floor to ceiling windows with views of the Back Bay. The facility will also include an outdoor deck.
The hotel’s public areas also received additions. A lobby lounge recently opened, featuring furnishings and wall coverings complemented by artworks, including signed lithographs by Matisse, Picasso and Chagall. Catie Copley, the hotel’s canine ambassador, also received a new custom-made dog bed as part of the renovation of this space. Adjacent to the Lobby Lounge, in Peacock Alley, the original hand-laid mosaic tile floor from 1912 has been restored.
OAK Long Bar + Kitchen makes its debut this summer. The neoclassical space features vaulted ceilings, original beaux arts plaster, and restored copper mullions contrast with a lighter, more contemporary cerused oak palette (the first real oak to actually be brought into the space). It also boasts fireplaces reminiscent of a University Club, a wine room, and tufted leather bar stools.
The property first opened in 1912, originally designed by Henry Janeway Hardenbergh, architect of the Copley Plaza ’s sister hotel, The Plaza in New York. The Fairmont Copley Plaza is owned by Texas-based FelCor Lodging Trust, which owns interests in 82 properties with approximately 23,000 rooms in the US and Canada.