The Omni King Edward Hotel in Toronto, Canada, completed a $40 million restoration that renovated and modernized its guestrooms, meeting spaces, lobby, restaurant and bar. Built in 1903 as the city's first luxury hotel, the property was reimagined to showcase its old-world features, augmented by modern style and amenities.
The renovations began in Fall 2013. Moncur Design Associates Inc. and Omni Hotels & Resorts are responsible for the new look and design of The Omni King Edward Hotel.
Updates to the lobby included restoration of decorative plasterwork on the ceiling and the wood paneled walls, as well as new contemporary furnishings using hues of ivory, gold and purple.
All 301 guestrooms and suites now have new furnishings, custom bedding, vintage crown moldings, high ceilings and marble bathrooms.
The property also introduced the Royal Club, which includes 29 guestrooms and suites with special amenities, including access to the VIP Royal Club Lounge.
The Vanity Fair Ballroom was similarly renovated, while the Sovereign Ballroom now has four teardrop crystal chandeliers. Updates were similarly made to the Windsor Ballroom. The 22,000 square feet of small to mid-sized meeting spaces were also completely renovated.
Victoria's Restaurant and the Consort Bar were also revitalized.
Other amenities in the property include: retail shops, salon and spa, Bespoke Garrison tailor services and a fitness center.
The King Edward initially opened in 1903. It was originally designed by Chicago architect Henry Ives Cobb and Toronto architect E.J. Lennox for developer George Gooderham's Toronto Hotel Company at a cost of $6 million. The original design of The King Edward Hotel included 400 rooms and 300 baths. In 1921, an 18-story tower with an additional 530 rooms was added to the original eight-story structure. Over its 112-year history, the hotel changed ownership and underwent further renovations in the 1970s. Omni Hotels & Resorts took ownership of the hotel in Fall 2013, with renovations starting immediately.