Marriott to convert Tasmanian heritage buildings into Luxury Collection hotel

The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart, Australia

Marriott's Luxury Collection soft brand will come to the Australian state of Tasmania in late 2018, following a full-scale renovation. Owned by Trawalla Group Parliament Square Hotel Operator, The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart will be in repurposed heritage buildings in Parliament Square, a new urban development. Upon opening, The Tasman will have 128 guestrooms and suites with carefully revived architecture, which will be restored by Sydney-based hospitality interior design firm JPDC

The assortment of heritage buildings includes the Georgian-style St. Mary’s Hospital originally constructed in 1847. Upon its completion in 2018, Parliament Square will have outdoor space, heritage buildings and contemporary architecture for government office, retail and food and beverage space.

The debut of this hotel marks another milestone for Marriott International as the group forges ahead with its goal of meeting the growing demand for experiential luxury travel. The company now has a portfolio of 26 hotels across eight brands in Australia and the Pacific region, with more than 20 additional signed hotels in the pipeline. The Tasman will further strengthen the company’s luxury pipeline along with Marriott's construction on The Ritz-Carlton Perth, The Ritz-Carlton Melbourne and the W Brisbane. “Luxury travel in Australia has grown remarkably in the last few years, and there is still growing demand for new hotel product, specifically in Tasmania,” Sean Hunt, AVP, Australia, New Zealand and Pacific at Marriott International, said in a statement. 
The Luxury Collection, part of Marriott International, has more than 100 hotels and resorts in more than 30 countries and territories. Meanwhile, Marriott International has a portfolio of more than 6,200 properties in 30 hotel brands spanning 125 countries and territories.


Like this story? Subscribe to Hotel Design!

Hospitality professionals turn to Hotel Design as their go-to news source for the latest products, projects, and trends for hotel interior designers and architects. Sign up today to get news and updates delivered to your inbox and read on the go.

Suggested Articles

NewcrestImage, The Plasencia Group and Innisfree Hotels appointed new leaders in their investor relations and development departments.

The Texas hotel is utilizing technology from Hotel Internet Services to maximize Wi-Fi service coverage quality.

Even Hotels, Hampton by Hilton, SureStay Hotels by Best Western and Fairfield by Marriott saw new locations open in the Peach State.