Hotel Association of New York City adds 11 members to board of directors

The InterContinental New York Times Square is one of 275 hotels included in the Hotel Association of New York City. Photo credit: IHG

The Hotel Association of New York City welcomed 11 new members to its board of directors. Three of the 11 new members were elected to the board’s executive committee.

Joining the existing 19 members of the board of directors will be:

  • Kaizad Charna, The Lexington Hotel
  • Hermann Elger, The Baccarat Hotel
  • Christopher Elko, Marriott Hotels
  • Marlene Poynder, Conrad Hotels
  • John Rubino, Interstate Hotels & Resorts
  • David Salcfas, New York Marriott East Side
  • Joanna Sanchez, W Hotels Worldwide
  • Merav Segev, Highgate Hotels
  • Marc Sternagel, The Roosevelt New York City
  • Becky Hubbard, The Lotte New York Palace
  • Charmaine Stafford, InterContinental Hotels Group. 

New members Sternagel, Hubbard and Stafford will sit on the executive committee with Vijay Dandapani, president and CEO of the Hotel Association of New York City, and existing members Diarmuid Dwyer, New York Hilton Midtown; Fred Grapstein, EVP of Vornado Realty Trust’s Hospitality Group; John Fitzpatrick, Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel; John Rieman, JW Marriott Essex House; John Schafer, Grand Hyatt New York; Robert Lafferty, Highgate Hotels; Sam Grabush, Highgate Hotels; Sean Verney, Sheraton New York Times Square; Shane Cookman, Fitzpatrick Hotels; and Steve Batta, MCR Development.

Virtual Event

HOTEL OPTIMIZATION PART 2 | Now Available On-Demand

Survival in these times is highly dependent on a hotel's ability to quickly adapt and pivot their business to meet the current needs of travelers and the surrounding community. Join us for Optimization Part 2 – a FREE virtual event – as we bring together top players in the industry to discuss alternative uses when occupancy is down, ways to boost F&B revenue, how to help your staff adjust to new challenges and more, in a series of panels focused on how you can regain profitability during this crisis.

Remaining in their elected positions on the board of directors, Grapstein will continue to serve as chair, Cookman as vice chair, Fizpatrick as treasurer and Steve Batta as secretary, alongside Dandapani.

Additional members who sit on the board of directors are Christine Devers, Renaissance Hotels; Geoffrey Allan Mills, GAM Hospitality; Matt Norman, Denihan Hospitality Group; Richard Born, BD Hotels; Robert Rechtermann, Conrad Hotels; Robert Snyder, Tishman hotel Corporation; Sofia Vandaele, InterContinental Hotels Group; and Steven Pipes, Jack Parker Corporation.

Established in 1878, the Hotel Association of New York City is one of the oldest professional trade associations in the nation. Its membership includes 275 hotels in New York City, representing more than 76,000 rooms and 50,000 employees.

Suggested Articles

The partnership aims to help restaurants streamline online orders from apps like GrubHub, UberEats, DoorDash, Chownow, Caviar, Postmates and others.

Two conferences traditionally held in the first half of each year are rescheduling for the second half.

In October, visitor arrivals were down 90.4 percent compared to 2019 and hotel occupancy was below 20 percent.